Week #2 of Half Marathon Training

I am back! I had to take a total of 11 days off in order to get well and not develop a severe chest cold. I came back full force and had a great week of training! Here is the week 2 recap.

Tuesday was my first day back and I had to run 2 miles. I was like, “this is doable”. Well, the humidity made it a little hard to breathe. I was still coming off from having a cough and chest issues so this was a lot harder than I thought. But I completed it, slowly, but I managed to knock it out without a break.

Thursday I had 3 miles. I ran faster than Tuesday’s run, and I really felt great after this one. I always feel better about my running when I can complete 3 miles without stopping. Am I alone on this? I don’t know what it is about 3 miles, but when I have to take time off I like to accomplish 3 miles and have it be successful. That is weird isn’t it? Anyway, this one was awesome. I finished being a hot, sweaty mess. The wet blanket weather status in ATL has arrived.

IMG_2474

Friday I had to open the salon (@9) so I had to get up super early and knock this out. Let me just say, having a time crunch helps me out SO. MUCH. I knew it was going to be fast, but not as fast as it ended up being. I LOVED this run! And of course this ended up being a bun day, ain’t no one got time to wash and dry their hair.

Saturday I opted for sleep. Bad idea, not only was the temperature soaring, the parking lot was packed. I ended up having to park on the road, which I hate. I mean look at this!

My car is behind that yellow traffic light sign. I ran another 3 miles, and my legs were feeling tired by this point of the week. But I kept going, never stopped. I did manage to wash and fix my hair for work afterwards. Ha.

This morning was my “long run” of 4 miles. Now, I was a little nervous about this run. I don’t know why, but it was intimidating me a little bit. I woke up at 7, but didn’t hit the trail until late. The parking lot was again, to the max, but today I scored a spot in the front! YES. Small wins, am I right? I took it slow, my legs were tired. And I was really tired. By the time I got to the turnaround point I was like, “I can’t finish” but I screamed at myself in my head and kept thinking just finish. Such simple words, JUST FINISH. The heat picked up a tad bit, I mean it was just 78 with 100% humidity so I got a little dizzy. I walked about .20 in my last mile. Needless to say I finished, and I was so happy.

I came home, showered, and jumped back in bed to finish sleeping. It was glorious. Zach and I got up around 10 and got some coffee and I was starving so I got some coffee cake. Such a great reward ๐Ÿ˜‰

I ran 15 miles total with a weekly average pace of 11:31, week 2 was great. I am thrilled about it!

Tuesday: 2 miles in 23:58, avg. pace 11:59; (12:10, 11:48)

Thursday: 3 miles in 34:00, avg. pace 11:20; (11:45, 11:17, 10:57)

Friday: 3 miles in 33:08, avg. pace 11:02; (11:21, 11:02, 10:40)

Saturday: 3 miles in 34:32, avg. pace 11:31; (11:50, 11:22, 11:20)

Sunday: 4 miles in 47:00, avg. pace 11:43; (11:59, 11:31, 11:36, 11:47)

6848AAAFA113CD2784D905A45AC3381D

Leave a Reply

