Weekly Training and When You Should Take a Break

This will be a great post. 1) It does not contain a 1,000 pictures like the usual 2) I actually have some good information for you. Win-win!

Last week I had a good mileage week. It was one of the highest ones for me in a while. 15 miles in total. Woohoo!

Sunday (3/2) I had 6 miles on the books and it was a lot better than my previous 6 miles that took me 65 minutes. For starters, the weather was PERFECT! Omgosh I am loving this weather. No ice, snow, or rain and it feels like summer and I am so loving it.

I started out really slow, per every other run and I tried to pick up speed. I did get a little too warm and stupid me didn’t have any water. I’m still on the kick of “its winter training so I don’t need water for long runs” so that has to change.

photo 2

Avg. pace 10:39. My stats were ok: 10:46, 11:05 , 10:45, 10:48, 11:07, 9:24<—WTF?! YES.

I am having trouble keeping up a good pace and having negative splits.  I wish it was 11:07, 11:05, 10:48, 10:46, 10:45, 9:24 but can’t always get what you want.  I was having some pretty good negative split runs, but not lately. Hopefully it’ll happen soon. Let us talk about that last mile however. I was literally getting pissed off that I was slowing down again UNTIL a miracle happened. MY STRANGER PACER WAS RUNNING AGAIN! Yes, for real! I followed her the last mile and runner magic happened when I finished with a 9:24 mile.

photo 1

Wednesday (3/5) I had 4 miles on the schedule and I had to run in the evening. I’m typically a morning runner, but I didn’t really have a choice so I hiked up my big girl panties and ran later in the day. The trail was packed, which is always a good sign. I was like “its 4 miles…knock them out, you got this” and my body was saying, “no for the love of God please listen to your coach and take them easy”

I ran them fast.

photo 3

10:50, 10:32, 10:14, 10:01

I was hot, I was tired, and I wanted to go home. Thankfully, it was a negative split run which is always a good sign. I really enjoyed this run, only because I picked up a lot of speed (for me) and managed to run physically tired and still make good time. And I run with lots of “mess” on my arm.  Garmin, Road ID, and Nike FuelBand.

So I did not run Friday, I waited for Saturday and I had to run 5 miles. I was so not in the mood. Legit pushing this off, I was so tired. Whenever I’m tired, I run faster so I’m done quicker. Because that makes total sense. Just push your body to the max to cause possible injuries and failures. Its ok, you can call me a genius. JK.

photo 4

9:37, 10:26, 10:27, 11:00, 10:40

I am so ashamed. I went out way too fast and ended up paying for it in the end. Those are bad stats. Should be in reverse order, but nope I clearly have no control on my pace when I am dead tired. 9:37 is something I aim for in my last mile, never in the first. I will admit that mile 4 was the slowest because my legs kept cramping. It was unbelievable, the weather was gorgeous and hot. Something I am not used to anymore and I didn’t hydrate at all before or during this. So I set myself up for a bad run with bad issues. I kinda learned my lesson.  But I got to run in one of my running skirts! It was amazing.

photo

My week was a little all over the place in terms of paces. I wish I could get back to my runs a couple of weeks ago, and I am reading previous journal entries and blog posts to figure out what I was doing right and what I am doing wrong now. The biggest issue I am seeing is this: I was not nearly as tired then as I am now.

TIME FOR REAL TALK.

As I am coming into year 3 of running, I am still learning what works and what doesn’t. The biggest issue I deal with is fuel and exhaustion. They go hand-in-hand. I try to eat a healthy breakfast, typically oatmeal. Sometimes I eat my yogurt with powdered peanut butter added in. Then I don’t eat until 3:30 in the afternoon. That is a large gap of not eating anything, but at work I’m so busy at the front desk that I don’t have a second to eat or drink anything. Then I’ll eat lunch at home, dinner at 8-9 then bed at 11-12. And do it all over again the next day. I am exhausted. I need to fuel properly and sleep better, but I just can’t seem to get in my head.

I know when to take a break though, like this week. I’m not beating myself up for not running all my runs, yes it might mess me up for next week, but that is ok. I want to be rested so I don’t hurt myself. Whenever I sleep longer on my off days I know my body is telling me something. I usually get up at 7 every morning, even on my off days. If I wake up at 9 or 10, sometimes 11 I know my body is catching up on much needed rest. So I accept that and just let my body heal itself and take a little break from exhausting it even more.

If you’re sleeping more, eating more, or eating less there might be something you need to back off from, like running. Your body will not lose all the hard work you’ve put into training, trust me. Your body is amazing at keeping your fitness level up. Just listen to what you need, not what you want. In the end it’ll make all the difference.

6848AAAFA113CD2784D905A45AC3381D

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Training and When You Should Take a Break

  1. pugrunaholic says:

    I have a hard time with negative splits as well. I always start too fast. I really need to work on this more! Nice blog btw 🙂

Leave a Reply

