Weekly Training Recap for 10/20/13 to 10/26/13

Last week was a fantastic week for running! I seriously enjoyed every single run on my training plan. How often does that happen?!

Sunday I had another speed workout on schedule, which are necessary (but my least favorite) and it kicked my butt.  This is how I looked before workout:

photo 3

Here was my workout:

  1. Warm up: Jog 0.5 mi very easy; light stretch; 7 Drills3 Strides (100 meters or 25 seconds)
  2. Workout:
      Fast/Slow workout: 3 sets:

      • Run 5:00@up tempo pace
      • Walk or jog for 3:00
  3. Cool down: Jog 0.5 mi very easy; Good Stretch

It was a struggle for me, this is how busted and beaten down I looked afterwards:

photo 1

Hot mess status.

I totes rewarded myself because I worked super hard and was dying from tired-ness. Starbucks for the win!

photo 2

I definitely have a problem with getting one of these daily. I do love them so.

I ran again Tuesday in the evening, which was nice and relaxing until I was in total darkness and freaked out. I keep forgetting that the sun is setting earlier and earlier each day, so just call me unknowledgeable about weather. Since it was getting so dark I thought I’d do another speed session, which 1. hurt and 2. knocked me out. I did however, get to run in my new Brooks tee. I went to TJ Maxx and got an amazing deal on some Brooks gear. Which I needed for the cooler temperatures.

photo 4

Friday. Oh sweet Friday. I literally had the best run in months. I mean it. I was on the biggest runners high you could imagine, I honestly felt like I was floating through this run. I managed to forget my adapter for my headphones (I have a lifeproof case and it needs an adapter to use headphones, its complicated and high maintenance), forgot my BFF Garmin, and was running on zero sleep. Everything leading up to failure. Yet a miracle happened.

photo 5

I was only on schedule for 4 miles at easy pace, but I just was feeling too good to stop. I ended up running for an hour and getting to 5. 3 miles. I was going slow, but that was ok. I was just taking in the perfect cold weather, the scenery and just how amazing this was feeling. All this hard work to get back into shape from my injury paid off in this run. Nothing hurt. Nothing felt hard to do. It was just that type of run that makes you fall in love with running.

Overall my week was great.

Here are the stats:

  • Sunday: 3.5 miles in 37:00 with 10:34 average pace
  • Tuesday: 2 miles in 19:50 with 9:55 average pace
  • Friday: 5.3 miles in 1:00:19 with 11:19 average pace
  • Weekly total of 10.8 miles

How was your training week? 

When was the last time you had an awesome run that just felt amazing?

6848AAAFA113CD2784D905A45AC3381D

 

Leave a Reply

