Weekly Training Report and I’m a Danger to Myself

This is mostly about my previous weeks training, and yes I am late on the post. I have been up to  my ears in stress that blogging was the last thing on my mind.

Sunday in Savannah, the day prior to turning 25, I ran on the hotel’s treadmill. IT WAS AWFUL. Why did I pick that option as opposed to running downtown?!  Oh yeah, because I had only 2 miles and wanted to be close to the shower for our planned festivities. I’m brilliant. My coach has me now running for time, not distance and I had to run 25 minutes on the world’s worst treadmill. I ran 2.3 miles with an average pace 10:44. Treadmills make me so tired, plus I find they make running much more difficult. I dislike them.

Tuesday I ran for distance, not time.  I have this game that is incredibly entertaining and fun. It makes speed work fly by. Pun intended. The school behind our neighborhood has a “mini track” with 5 loops, all 5 loops equal 400 meters. I run from 5 -> 1 then 1->5 and pick up speed each loop. I love it, those who watch must think I’m a dumb runner.  I hit 2 miles in 18:01.

photo 1

I forgot to wash my face before heading out, so I wiped my forehead and my sweat was ivory. First world problems. I ran the first 1.5 miles in 13:07 and had a cool down of 800 meters in 5 minutes. I also came across this little kid cuteness.

photo 2

“Happy Hallween”

I forgot I ran in my Brooks PureCadence until I uploaded this photo. Must of been why I was so fast.

Saturday I had to run for time and not distance again, and I was so worried when I saw the weather report. It was freezing. It just so happened to rain all night and chill about 30° so I was running in the first frigid temperatures of the season. But I love cold, crisp fall runs. But when its miserable and cold, I long for those 80° summer runs where you can’t breathe due to the extreme humidity and sweat getting all in your eyes and blinding you with the sting. Memories.

I downloaded some fresh music of Lorde and The Neighborhood, and it made my run so much better. I love Lorde, she is beautiful and has such an amazing set of vocals for a 16 year old. I was so awkward at 16, no where near cool like her. Then The Neighborhood, just talented. I busted out a nice good run in 35:03 with the distance of 3.4 miles and average pace of 10:23. It was a run where you feel like you just floated through the whole thing.

photo 3

photo 4

You can’t tell, but I was so hot. Somehow I managed to overheat and get all icky. This is how I cooled down for about 10 minutes in my car. I had someone ask me if my ankle was ok, does it look hurt? NO! But my thigh looks massive. Plus, please tell me you see the side knee sweat. How does that even occur? I had it on both sides.

photo 5

After cooling down I was freezing. I was so cold I drove to Starbucks and got a caramel macchiato. It was the best after-run drink I’ve ever had. So strange and weird from my usual venti iced coffee with sweetener and 1/2 & 1/2 with shots of toffee nut syrup. Thinking about that makes me want one now.

So last week I went to dinner with some friends after work and while getting ready I managed to cut my hand with my fingernail while fixing my hair. I was doing my beloved sock-bun and as I was pulling my hair through the bun maker, I scratched myself. I didn’t feel it or anything, and then I noticed my hand was bleeding.

photo

It is now turning into a nasty scar and is red all the way around it, no its not infected, but its ugly. I’m a danger to myself.

So last week I ran 7.7 miles.

How was your training?

Have you ever cut yourself and not realize it until later?

What are you currently doing?!

6848AAAFA113CD2784D905A45AC3381D

2 thoughts on “Weekly Training Report and I’m a Danger to Myself

Leave a Reply

