Getting Fit, Its Good For You

With so many things going on this holiday season, finding time to workout can be incredibly tough. Well guess how you can fit in it? You make time. There is enough time in the day for you to find an hour to workout. It can be 5 minute breaks throughout the day, or two 30 minute sessions…you get the idea? Good.

In order for you to take care of your family and friends, you must take care of yourself first. You need to look yourself in the mirror and say, “I’m going to focus on me and my_____.” That way you will realize that there is time for you and you alone.

A fantastic way to find and make time is planning ahead. I generally plan for 6 days of exercise a week. Sound like a lot? Because it is. What if I told you that it adds up to either an hour, hour and half, or simply 20 minutes a day. Still sound like a lot? No. Finding 6 hours a week isn’t impossible. And I may not get to all those 6 workouts, but I will try. If I get 4, not too bad. I like to plan ahead so I can make the time. I start with my work schedule, then figure out what my time period is to fit in a workout.

Screen shot 2012-12-04 at 11.54.20 AM

Yes, its called OCD. But it helps me stay on track. Things are color-coded. Things are thought through. I like it that way. And notice my work hours, they are throughout the afternoon. Wonderful, so this week I am working out in the morning. Last week, I had a lot of early morning shifts so I worked out in the afternoon. Being flexible with your schedule will help you stay on the right path of finding a healthier you. BTW, those blue events? Thats the Elf 4 Health scheduled events. I even added those to my calendar which I’m a elf 4 health. I will post more about that later.

Second, I find workouts I enjoy. I love, just love blogilates! Cassey Ho is a genius when finding fun, super effective workouts. Great thing about them too? They’re free and the videos are on YouTube. She also offers a monthly calendar of workouts for everyday to follow. I’m also adding workouts from Tone It Up! which is two beautiful, Victoria Secret looking-ess trainers who have great and yet effective workouts that are quick and no longer than 30 minutes. Karena and Katrina offer nutrition plans, calendars and a great community to stay in shape. Plus, you guessed it…videos on YouTube! There is also a Tone It Up! app for your phone. Its free, offers a set time which is a “Booty Call” and it’ll go off  when its time to workout. Genius. I am also running. Small miles, building up to bigger miles. Finding just 20 minutes to run changes my mood instantly so I can’t throw out running. I love it.

And you know another great way of finding different workouts? Pinterest. Yes, that addictive site that I spend way to much time on.

Screen shot 2012-12-04 at 11.52.41 AM

However, its where I found the GNC Lean Legs from the Blonde Ponytail, which is a tabata style workout. I love incorporating tabatas into my weekly routine. Incredibly quick, and balls-to-the way effective. You will work harder in 4 minutes then you would in 30. With a Pinterest board, it will give you a quick go-to and help you stay motivated. There are always new exercises added so you can always switch it up. Trust me, you’ll never get bored.  And yes, if you eat like shit you will feel like shit. I know from first hand experience.

So what are ways you stay fit and stay on schedule?

How many exercises have you tried from your Pinterest boards?

Leave a Reply

