Zach At The Track

I can’t believe I never wrote this post. Like how did it slip my mind?

Back in October, Zach took me to his beloved race track on my birthday so I could watch him. Fun times. Especially on your birthday and you have to wake up super early and go out in the incredible chilly morning and watch your husband work on his car. Ah, memories.

photo

I do love watching him though, he is really good. His speed gets faster every time. That scares the shit out of me, I’m not gonna lie. But he can handle his car. I can’t.

How do I know? Because my birthday present from him was going for a couple of laps around the track. At full speed. I wanted to throw up at the thought.

photo

I definitely had to get used to the idea of really doing this, and I had to be talked into it.

And then it was time.

I prayed about 100 times, “Lord, please don’t let us die.” I have trust in Zach to keep me safe, but throw in a car that might lose control is terrifying. There are so many what-ifs that can go wrong, so I was freaking out. But eventually I calmed down, climbed in the car, and we were off. Zach and I discussed what are “safety” words were incase I got scared, and it was clear…”SLOW DOWN and I DON’T LIKE THIS” became our safety words. The first lap was the worst, I was crying. Literally. I was scared shitless and couldn’t even breathe. But I couldn’t get out of the car, I wanted to keep going. Putting the fear of death aside, it was really fun. Zach wasn’t going as fast anymore, and I began to enjoy it. It was another way for us to spend time together. Normally, I take him to things I like and this time it was switched. It ended up being a great day. Another wonderful birthday. The only problems were how sore I was from the seatbelt. Breaking hard at 90+mph kinda hurts.

photo

Like I said, I love watching Zach. He  has talent that is really coming through. And I got to be a part of it.

And we didn’t die.

487117_296198157152796_1785114915_n

Leave a Reply

