Beauty DIY

I’ve been searching for a better way to nourish my skin without using harsh chemicals or sulfates that are potentially bad for skin. I will admit I have acne prone skin, it started about my senior year of high school and its been a struggle since then to get under control. I have tried everything of almost every brand. Things work, then stop working. I get breakouts around my chin and forehead. Each spot is related to diet, hormones, and stress. All 3 things that make up a woman, great 😉

Jokes aside I will try pretty much anything “natural” to better my skin situation. I don’t wear any make-up unless for wedding deliveries, date nights, or something where I need to look my best. You get the idea. I wash my face 2 a day, especially after a morning run. I use Philosophy Purity cleanser, I love it. It doesn’t over-dry my skin and I like the way its an all-in-one cleanser. I use 2 different moisturizers, each by Boots Expert. For morning I use the Sensitive Light Moisturizing Lotion and for night Anti-Blemish Night Moisturizer. Both can be found at Target. I also use my Clarisonic Mia 2 twice a week. Here is a picture of my beauty stash:

But lately I’ve been having a problem with my skin. I think its due to the fact I’ve cut out a major food group from my previous diet, and the stress resulting for my bronchitis and being gluten-free can be a culprit too. Anyway, I’m tired of these tiny breakouts. So I went to the internet, better yet Pinterest. I came across this pin of “brightening toner” and was intrigued. I of course went to the source and ended up reading more things than I imagined. I read a comment about the Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) and typed it into Google. I couldn’t believe this beauty secret was kept from me for so long! The OCM does wonders for acne-prone skin because its “like dissolves like” translated to “oil dissolves oil” and its proven. I read so much information and was ready to take the plunge and try it out. I followed Crunchy Betty and did the ratio thats best of oily skin.There are different types of oil’s for different skin types, and I found grape seed oil so I went with that. Castor oil is the main oil in all the ratios. Its a natural cleanser that gets rid of skin impurities. I used 2/3 castor oil to 1/3 grape seed oil. I followed all the directions, and Zach thought I was nuts. (If interested, check out all the information on her site.)

My skin left AMAZING after the cleansing. I had no need to use my night moisturizer. My skin didn’t feel greasy or anything, it just felt clean and normal. I will admit it felt totally weird at first. But massaging it into my skin felt like a facial. I was highly impressed. After washing my face I used the toner I had also made, the skin brightening one I found on Pinterest. The recipe is on Shwin&Shwin, and its so easy to make. Check it out to use after your OCM.

My beauty DIYs were great finds. I am so happy I came across these gems. My skin hasn’t felt this good in a long time. Now I use the OCM at night. In the morning I still use my Philosophy and Expert moisturizer. I feel its beneficial to get gunk off your face that was built up during the night, I mean you’re rolling your face around on a bacteria-infested pillow. Ew. We wash our pillows every week and they do get dirty every night you lay your face on them. Trust me.

So the great news is these 2 DIYs are inexpensive and almost 100% natural for your skin. Its helping me with my skin and it can help with yours.

For Oil Cleansing Method, check out Crunchy Betty. She has tons of different oils listed. My ratio is:

  • 2/3 castor oil
  • 1/3 grape seed oil

For skin brightening toner, check out Shwin&Shwin. The recipe is:

  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 1 cup water
  • 2/3 cup witch hazel

Again, for directions check out their sites!

And, if you’re interested in “face mapping” to find out what your breakouts mean, check it out here at U Look Haute. I’m not 100% if the information is correct, but for me its pretty spot on. My troublesome spots are 1,2,3 and 11,12,13.

2 thoughts on “Beauty DIY

  1. cookiecutterceliac says:

    Wow! I found the same ones on Pinterest and was going to post about it! lol Now I’ll tag you!!! They really do work better than store bought facial cleansers. Celiac was making me break out like crazy and this really helped, especially since I never had breakouts before.

Leave a Reply

