My Favorite Gluten-Free Products, thus far

Well I’ve got bronchitis and laryngitis. This week has been rough on both the exercise and meal plans. I’m focusing on rest and nothing else. Let me just say I 100% miss P90X and running. I cannot wait to be better and get back to it. Besides that things are fine, but I’m being lazy on what I’m eating and snacking mostly. Being sick kills my appetite. I ate a whole bag of pop chips within 3 days. They are uber-delicious.

I’ve been 98% gluten-free since last Friday. I did have pasta (small portion) on Sunday because I can still eat it, just with some minor to moderate symptoms including uncomfortableness and bloating (gross word). Sunday night I felt some minor bloat, but it wasn’t near what I had been feeling for a couple of weeks. I’m allowing myself 1 or 2 days of eating gluten, I call them “cheat days”. With a small serving portion I can still satisfy my craving and not deal with the symptoms as severely. I’m in this for the long haul, and luckily I’m not really having trouble finding things to eat. I made a list of my top favorite (and tasty!) gluten-free products.

1. Honey Nut Chex cereal, super yummy.

2. Rudi’s Cinnamon Raisin Bread, found at Kroger.

3. Udi’s Classic Hamburger buns

4.. Van’s Natural Foods wheat-gluten free waffles in blueberry.

Granted most of these are breakfast foods. Which is what I really needed to find. I used to have whole wheat toast with peanut butter before a run, now I eat my Rudi’s. I ate Honey Nut Cheerio’s and switched it for Honey Nut Chex. For lunch I either bring a gluten-free Amy’s organic soup or something leftover from dinner which was gluten-free, like Sante Fe Casserole from Healthy Tipping Point. If I don’t have a soup or leftovers I get a Wendy’s half portion salad and sour cream/chive baked potato. Dinners are easy, except Sunday. I did eat my typical chicken bake with pasta. The rest of the week is veggie burger and my Udi’s buns with tots, casserole(s), Season’s of Japan miso soup and rice, and whatever is thrown together on Friday and Saturday.

What are your favorite gluten-free items to buy? What is the meal you have the hardest time planning for?

Leave a Reply

