My New Gluten-Free Lifestyle

This week I had the confirmation of what I’ve been dreading  assuming is wrong in my diet. I am gluten sensitive. Lets just say the thought is still trying to process in my mind, I’m not fully grasping it because all I keep thinking is “what I am going to eat?!” and the worst and most prevalent thought is “OMG NO CAKE!!” I’m most upset about the cake…

Nonetheless I understand this is what my body needs. Its needs to heal properly and the only way to achieve that is to cut out all gluten for a certain period of time, and maybe, just maybe I can add a little gluten (like one dish a week) back into my diet. Still, the news is way too fresh for me right now. I went into panic mode at the grocery store, hunting down items I’d eat that are gluten-free.

It took 3 trips to 3 different grocery stores to get 4 items. I find this to be a problem. I can’t be driving all over the place getting things that I actually need to nourish my body with. But for my first time shopping I am happy with what I got.

Left to right: Amy’s chunky tomato bisque (for yesterday’s lunch), Rudi’s cinnamon raisin gluten-free bread, Quinoa (in the raw state? not sure), and Leapin Lemurs chocolate and peanut butter cereal. Those 4 little things cost a lot might I add. I wish we had a Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s so I didn’t have to pay $7 for a bag of quinoa.

The bread is amazing! I ate it for the first time yesterday morning and it was fantastic. I found it at Kroger. Very happy, the cereal was good too and another find from Kroger. Its not the healthiest cereal, but with limited cereal options it was the best choice.

A lot of gluten-free foods are necessarily healthy, and a lot of over processed. I can of course add more fruits and vegetables into my diet and a lot of things aren’t really changing. I’m switching one thing out for another. Another helpful tip was from Mama Pea over at Peas and Thank You. She answered my questions about her cookbook and then gave me some great gluten-free blogs to check out.

Things will be right in the world, even without some delicious cake from my work or that yummy pasta I adore at Carrabba’s.

Do you eat gluten-free? 

What are your favorite gluten-free brands? What are you least favorite?

5 thoughts on “My New Gluten-Free Lifestyle

  1. Brianna says:

    I’ve been dreading that I might be gluten sensitive, too. A close friend of mine is actually gluten-intolerant. I can’t even imagine. I sometimes take note of all the things I’ve eaten in a day, and how its pretty much all grains and dairy. Cereal. Sandwiches. Pasta. I literally don’t know what I would eat otherwise! Thankfully stores are adding more gluten-free options. But I will be interested to see what you buy and make! I really should start making some subtle changes now, before I end up gluten-intolerant!

    • Brooke says:

      Thats the mind-set I had as well, I don’t want to end up not being able to ever eat my favorite things again, like pasta and cake. But with the changes I’ve made since Friday, I can already feel a difference. My body is responding really well to the change and I’m feeling more energized and not so bloated (I hate that word), and I can recommend some great brand’s that I’m loving! I’ll make a post about it so stayed tuned.

      I definitely recommend trying to go gluten-free for a week and seeing if you can feel a difference.

  2. cookiecutterceliac says:

    Oh my gosh I am so glad I found your blog! I have Celiac Disease and could you pretty pleeease post the blogs that are gluten-free? But you can have cake! I made a double layer choclate cake with vanilla frosting for my husband and he said it was better than regualr cake! =D You CAN do it!

Leave a Reply

