Running the Susan G. Komen 5K

Tomorrow is the day, and I am having mixed emotions (but the good kind!). I’m excited, nervous, and anxious. Another thing I’m feeling is super emotional, in the sense that I’ll probably be bawling my eyes out running with breast cancer survivors, runners in treatment, and those running in memory of someone they loved and lost. I’ve been warned told that is can get very sappy, but also fun. I’m really looking for the fun part and not so much sappy-ness. I was asked why I wanted to run it, my answer for the experience and to support those fighting who can’t run. I love running, and I’m sure there are those battling this disease who can no longer physically run due to treatment and I’m running for them.

Lets get to the deets ok?

The course is around Savannah’s most beautiful streets, plus we get to run in front of Forsyth Park, which is where Zach and I had our wedding in the Fragrant Garden. Starting on Broughton Street is fun too, we will be running in front of Marc Jacob’s and our nicer stores. I like how the mile markers are up, gives me a good idea of where I need to be looking for. Running past our tiny squares will be nice too. The only issue is some streets are cobblestone, some are horribly asphalt-ed. I’m praying I don’t twist my ankle. Hopefully Zach will be at Mile 1 and the Finish, but I think he’ll stay at the Start/Finish line.

My race playlist was well planned and thought out. I am stoked to run to it, I actually listen to it in the car. Almost everyday…ok everyday. Is that obsessed? I don’t think so. I wanted to share with you what I’ll be running to from start to finish.

1. Chemical Brothers-Galvanize (the 6:33 song)

2. Swedish House Mafia-Greyhound (the 6:51 song)

3. deadmau5-Ghosts ‘n’ Stuff (feat. Rob Swire) (5:28 song)

4. Young the Giant- My Body (4:04)

5. Nicki Minaj-Starships (3:30)

6. Depeche Mode- Personal Jesus (3:45)

7. Martin Solveig & Dragonette-Hello (4:41)

So there is my playlists for this race, the total is 34 minutes, I plan on not running that long. But I like to give myself an option to skip a song if needed. I love the first 3 songs, house music is perfect to run to..fast at that. I ran to this again this week and it was perfect. If you’re looking for a list, try some of these songs out! You won’t be disappointed.

Next, my running outfit for the race. Here are some pictures. Don’t blind yourself with the neon pink sports bra. It burns the eyes.

My shorts aren’t red, they are actually this shade of pink…

Now my outfit is nothing super cool like I had planned, but its comfortable and light-weight. Oh and see-through on top. Its Nike Tempo shorts, a Nike singlet, and neon pink sports bra I picked up at TJ Maxx. I was planning on wearing my compression socks due to shin pain, but they felt hot on Wednesday. I’ll keep with my Susan G. Komen socks. I have everything laid out and ready to be put on. I always lay my gear out and organize carry ons like my SPIbelt and armband. If something isn’t laying on the ground I tend to forget it until I’m up at the starting line. That feeling blows.

Things I’m carrying in my SPIbelt:

  • Clif Shot Bloks
  • Burt’s Bee chap stick

So there is everything I will be listening to and wearing. I feel good about tomorrow, my legs are still a little tight and sore from my Wednesday morning run. But this isn’t about PRing, its about running for a cause. I honestly can’t wait, hopefully I can sleep tonight!

I’ll have a full race recap tomorrow afternoon, wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Running the Susan G. Komen 5K

Leave a Reply

