Cake, Smoothies, and Protein. Together in Harmony.

Happy Tuesday! Today is a great post, seriously. First I’m sharing an out-of-this-world coffee cake recipe that includes fresh apples. Its a twist I love. Second, I’m partaking in the 7 Day Green Smoothie Challenge. It actually started yesterday, and my smoothie was delicious after my run and P90X. Third, protein. As in protein powder.  Yep, I’m serious as ever about getting in top physical shape for my half marathon training. Enough serious talk, we can get to that at the end. Lets talk about whats really important, the cake recipe.

Cake is my favorite sweet treat. Its moist (if done correctly), light, and hands down delicious. Its not a surprise to anyone I love it, for one I work with it everyday. I went to school for it. I just love cake. I can put together a mean cake in minutes, and scraps are just as good as money. Seriously, I eat it everyday…except now for Lent. Which ends soon. (Slight hooray!)

This is an apple coffee cake. Its moist, tender and super tasty. I’ve done this recipe before and have tried different approaches and the one probably the most unhealthy is the best. Why? It has butter flavored shortening. Shhh! Don’t tell. Ok? 😉 Its a cake you’d want to show off, the top is so beautiful with thinly sliced apples.

The recipe is as follows: (for two 8″ plans double the recipe, for one 6″ stick to what I’m giving ya)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter flavored shortening
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 sour cream

Topping:

  • 1 apple, cored, halved and thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup + 2 TBsp packed brown sugar, light or dark
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 TBsp cold butter

Directions:

  1. In a mixing bowl, cream shortening and sugar until fluffy and creamy. Add eggs and vanilla.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Sift together.
  3. Add sifted flour mix to creamed mixture alternating with sour cream.
  4. Pour into greased pan.
  5. For topping, thinly slice apple and place in overlaying circle. Combine brown sugar and cinnamon. Cut in butter until crumby. Sprinkle over cake batter.
  6. Bake at 350° for 40-45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

So other than delicious cake I’ve been satisfying my sweet tooth with some green smoothies. Its a fun challenge, Peanut Butter Runner is doing it also, and thats where I pretty much proclaimed I’d join in. For 7 days you can make the classic smoothie or come up with new recipes. You should be able to see and feel the benefits. For one it gives you energy and can even help with your skin, hair, and nails. I simply stick to the recipe I know I will love.

  • 1-2 cups spinach
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • ice, crushed

Now protein. Since starting P90X last week I’ve been researching protein powders. I didn’t want one you get at the grocery store, I really wanted one that would work. I’d read reviews and some were great, some not so hot. I narrowed it down to two, but committed to one. Happy I did. Again, saw it on PBR but I’d read reviews on it before. Zach and I talked about it, because he has used protein powder before and gave me an idea of what to look for and what to avoid. Some offered had things that could affect my kidneys, and that wouldn’t be an issue if mine were in tip-top shape. Plus I didn’t want one high in sugar or carbs. Carbs turn to sugar, sugar affects me also in negative ways if ingested in large quantities. I suffer from hypoglycemia and sugar rushes right through me and crashes within minutes. Its fun. So the one I went with the one that had the best “qualifications” offered.

(source)

I went with Metabolic Nutrition’s Protizyme in Vanilla Cake. From Metabolic Nutrition’s site, “Protizyme’s 10x ultra-microfiltered process preserves the essential protein-peptide structure which delivers greater concentrations of amino acids, glutamine and BCAA’s. Each gram of protein in Protizyme is coated with only the most potent digestive enzymes…dramatically increasing digestion and absorption, therefore eliminating gas and bloatinProtizyme is fortified with 24 essential vitamins and minerals, providing optimal nutritional benefit absent in other proteins.” (source)

Its a pharmaceutical grade protein powder. It helps with weightlifting, strength and conditioning, and overall health and wellness. Plus offering vitamins and minerals is great too. I am really excited for it to get here, and I wish I had ordered it sooner so I can add it to my smoothies, but that will happen in the future.

Yep that is my Tuesday. Now off to Girls On The Run! How is your Tuesday going?

Have you tried a protein powder you loved/hated?

Try the cake recipe!

3 thoughts on “Cake, Smoothies, and Protein. Together in Harmony.

  1. wmatto says:

    I found your blog through the green smoothie challenge. Good stuff. I make a really similar green smoothie but use a frozen banana instead of ice. I also sometimes use peanut flour instead of protein powder. It’s basically crushed peanuts with the oil extracted. High in protein, low in sugar and pretty natural. If you like PB I’d recommend checking it it.

    • Brooke says:

      I froze some bananas overnight last night to try instead of ice! Thats too funny 😉 Thanks for the peanut flour tip, due to my health issues sugar intake is strictly watched (even though I eat cake everyday) but I love anything that is mostly natural. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Reatha Lafave says:

    Unfortunately, when you walk into your local health food store to purchase a whey protein powder, you will probably be expecting a qualified sales person who knows all about the products on the shelf. What you will actually – most likely – encounter is a teenager who doesn’t know the first thing about body building, much less the products on the shelf in the store where he or she works. They are just there for the minimum wage paycheck. Even if the sales person is qualified to answer your questions, they represent their company – not you – and will suggest the product that nets them the highest profit, instead of the product that is going to net you the most benefit. ”

    Most current blog post from our web portal
    <'http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/vitamin-d-dosage/

Leave a Reply

