My Body Tells Me No, But I Won’t Quit ‘Cuz I Want More

BRING IT.

Yes, this is why I decided to do it. Just kidding! But I am a pastry chef and found this on Pinterest and about died. Its not a secret to anyone that I love sweets, particularly cake so maybe having P90X won’t hurt 😉

Today was Day 1. Only 89 to go. It was Chest & Back and Ab Ripper X. I am hooked! The burn I felt in my arms and shoulders the whole time was intoxicating. The push ups were the hardest part for me. For Zach, not so much. The man can knock them out like there is no tomorrow. And! I never knew this. I was joking he couldn’t do a real push up and low and behold there is my husband doing about 20+. Who knew, right? Eh, men.

Post workout glory:

HECK YES! Now I’m not going to post a picture of how I look today, I am so uncomfortable with that, but however I will post a final 90 day picture with final measurements and what not.

For the first 3 weeks my (hopefully our) workouts will be in these sequences:

  • Day 1: Chest & Back, Ab Ripper X
  • Day 2: Plyometrics
  • Day 3: Shoulders & Arms, Ab Ripper X
  • Day 4: Yoga X
  • Day 5: Legs & Back, Ab Ripper X
  • Day 6: Kenpo X
  • Day 7: Rest

The 4th week is “recovery phase” and I’ll post about that week when it comes. I love the muscle confusion of the program. I picked to do the classic version, because its my first time doing P90X and I want to just stick with the original.

Another thing on my mind is my running. How the heck am I going to keep up with my running when I will be sore as all get out?! Simple. Run slow and steady 2 days during the week and then one long run on Day 7 (Saturdays). I will simply be sticking to 3-4 miles on Saturdays and not bumping it up until the end of the 90 days when I can start half-marathon training.

I’ll do the updates on P90X every “block” i.e. every 28 days and do a full post on how everything is going.

P90X equipment: I’m using 5 and 8 pound weights with regular and heavy resistance  bands with a door anchor for the pull-ups. Eventually (when I’m ready) I’ll pump up my weights, but for now the  8 lb. was working just fine.

Are you currently doing P90X? Dying to try it?

 

4 thoughts on “My Body Tells Me No, But I Won’t Quit ‘Cuz I Want More

  1. Nikki says:

    I know you will have great results – everyone I know who has done it has been very happy with it. Good luck! I hope it challenges you like you want.

    • Brooke says:

      Thanks! I can’t wait for the next 90 days. Today was challenging, but I thought it would be a lot harder. I say that now, but it will probably get more intense. Either way I am in love with it and can’t wait to bring it!

Leave a Reply

