My Fitness Story

This is a topic so close to my heart. A lot of people have their reasons as to why they workout and do the exercises they do. Mine is simple. I grew up in a home with two great parents, one always involved in outdoor activities and one who watched their weight and kept up good eating habits. Their parenting shaped me into the woman I am today, and that all started when I was little.

I was always involved with some sort of activity all year long. Football season I cheered, fall into spring I played basketball, summer well that included summers at the YMCA Camp and cheerleading/tumbling practice. This started since I was 5. My school activities was something my parents always pushed for. They were always telling me to get outside and ride bikes with my neighborhood friends, and always supporting me at games. I guess the love for exercise was embedded in me from a young prime age. Up until high school I cheered, until my junior year. I pretty much destroyed my back and quit all exercise.

Whats worse is I ended up spending my weekends partying and eating unhealthy foods. I kept these habits because I wasn’t gaining weight, I wasn’t seeing anything bad so there was no intention for me to change. I was young, carefree, and had no reason to exercise. High school was filled with studying and memories with friends. All this joy lasted carried over until a certain age.

Ah, to be young and eat whatever you wanted and not see an extra pound on the scale.

When I was 20 my world was flipped upside down. My parents started their divorce and I was in such a horrible place mentally, that my physical appearance was just as bad. People would ask if I had an eating disorder. I’d look at them and be so offended. I would say, “what the hell makes you ask that?!” I didn’t really see myself the way others saw me. At the same time Zach and I decided the best thing for us was to move away from this. The opportunity came up to move to Orlando for Zach’s school and we jumped at the chance. Living on our own opened my eyes to myself. I was so gaunt. I really started to pay attention to what I was cooking and what I needed to put on weight and get back to my “healthy” self. Problem was I didn’t know what a healthy Brooke looked like anymore.

Over the next year I had put on some much needed pounds and started to appreciate what I saw. Even during culinary school I didn’t put on extra weight until my breads class. That amazing class added an unwanted 6 pounds. I didn’t bother with it until last year.

What a healthy, happy Brooke look likes. Our second summer living in Orlando.

We moved up here to Savannah I finally decided to do something about the extra weight because I noticed we lived in a running community. I was so interested in the allure of being a runner I jumped on the bandwagon. It was a struggle to get started, but I loved the feeling I had when I was running. I just kept pushing further and further. I noticed the extra weight practically fell off. Then I tried racing, absolutely fell head over heels in love. I then wanted to try more weight lifting and strength training. Everything was just increasing my endurance and eventually I was stronger than ever. Thats the reason I love Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred and I’m so excited to get P90X. Things were falling into place, I was fit and happy.

From where I started to where I’m at now is unbelievable. I absolutely love challenging myself to change myself. I get excited now to workout and to break a great sweat. Being healthy influenced me for majority of my life and even when that part disappeared it came back with a bang. As I now continue to the adventure of my life and what my future holds I can thank God and bless the Lord for what he has brought me.

After finishing "the South's Toughest Bridge Run" the Enmark Savannah River Bridge Run, 6 grueling miles.

My story is why I have this blog. I want to share my love for everything and to all your readers. If I can touch one person to try running or any exercise, then I’ve done what I wanted to do. Everyone has to start somewhere, the question is how far do you want to go?

2 thoughts on “My Fitness Story

  1. Nikki says:

    Thanks for sharing your story! I love hearing what inspires others as workout motivation. Glad you are in the better place now too and that you’re healthy!

    • Brooke says:

      Thank you! I’m in such a great place now that I could burst everyday with happiness. I too love to hear what motivates and inspires others to get healthy and workout. I’m very happy I decided to share!

Leave a Reply

