Killed It

Happy Monday! How was everyone’s weekend? Mine was pretty sweet. I ran my little heart out and decided to give up cake for Lent. Yes I know it started last Wednesday and yes I have been truly thinking long and hard on what I want to give up. No, I’m not Catholic, but I am a Baptist and I find it enough to give up something I love for someone who loves me and died on the cross for me. Giving up cake sounds foolish. But I truly love it and eat if every day. Its part of my job, even my own boss and hubby have said I can’t do it. It will be a struggle, but the Lord will help me through it when I pray for help and guidance. 40 days without cake. Here we go.

Remember last Friday’s post? I whined about my terrible week of blah running. Well this Saturday morning, I killed my run. Something sparked and I flew through miles. It was like I grew wings on my feet.

Yes, those are sock marks from the socks I slept in.

I am so happy about Saturday morning. Everything was just right, the weather to the music. Don’t you just love when a run like this just happens? You get in your groove within the first couple of minutes and then the time just passes by. If only every run would feel this way. I guess finally getting some good sleep helped too. Let me tell you I’m happy I got a good run in for last week, because my work got to be hectic. I can take all the relaxing runs I can get.

I tried to squeeze in a quick run Friday afternoon, but the threat of being killed from the severe weather we were having I just skipped it. Whats worse is my husband had to talk me out of it. Plus my calf was killing me, I don’t know what happened but around lunch my pain came creeping back.

So yes this weekend was awesome, my legs were rested and ready to go. Today was going to be a great day to run, but I woke up to a downpour of rain. I will now rest until I force myself to get up. And I am a little worried about tomorrow, I will be surrounded by delicious cakes that I can gorge myself with. But I will not take a single bite.

What are you giving up for Lent?

How was your weekend run?!

Any severe weather in your neck of the woods?

2 thoughts on “Killed It

  1. Nikki says:

    I’m a Baptist too and I’ve never given up anything for Lent. I like your idea though – He died for us just like everyone else. I will have to remember that next year!

    • Brooke says:

      This is the first year I’m participating in Lent. It too never occurred to me to take up Lent, but this year it really set with me and my journey to get closer in my relationship with the Lord. I highly recommend it for next year!

Leave a Reply

