Working On My Fitness

“Frustration is the first step towards improvement. I have no incentive to improve if I’m content with what I can do and if I’m completely satisfied with my pace, distance and form as a runner. It’s only when I face frustration and use it to fuel my dedication that I feel myself moving forwards.” –John Bingham 

Amen to that.

This week has killed my runs. Not in a good way. I am completely unmotivated to haul myself outside. Its not the weather (although the gnats are out and its February, I hate them…oh the joys of Coastal Georgia), its not the mileage, its completely me being lazy. I think.

Last week I was pumped to run, the week prior was the same. I don’t know whats happened since coming home Sunday night but I have been dreading going outside. Monday when I ran it was the longest 3 miles of my life. Like it felt like an hour of running, but it was only 27 minutes. Since then I have been super lazy on my time.

Wednesday I woke up early, ate my toast with nutella because peanut butter is bland to me now, instead I opted out for more sleep on the couch. That meant I’d have to run that afternoon which I hate running in the afternoons. I’m tired, I just want to get in my sweats and lay around. Thats my reward for working and exercising. So Wednesday I started to go and my shins were on fire. I had no idea what was going on. That pain influenced my whole run and it was over within 20 minutes. 2.34 miles of shin pain. And I was too lazy to tape my leg and my calf cramped and ached all night. I knew better too! I have compressed, foam rolled, iced, and rested and nothing has helped. Honestly I’m not sure what is going on with me and my relationship with running. We are having complicated issues. If there was a Facebook relationship update it would be “Its Complicated”.

Yep, totally awesome blanket that my husband slept with while growing up

But you know what, its just one week. Like John Bingham said, only frustration motivates me. Next week I will try harder, I will run faster, I will run longer. All because this week was totally off.

Leave a Reply

