Spinach and Tomato Pasta

Last night I was hungry, hungry for pasta. Zach and my father-in-law went to a local Japanese take-out place and I opted for a healthier dinner. I only had 2 vegetables on hand, spinach and tomatoes. Good thing I’m quick on my feet and thought this recipe. Ok its not a recipe, its a throw-everything-in-a-food-processor-dinner.

First I started out with my cherry tomatoes.

I used about a half cup to 3/4 cup of tomatoes. I cut them in half, then quartered them (so it would be easier in the food processor).

While I was doing this, my pasta was boiling and cooking away. I used small shells and about 1 1/2 cups. I wanted to make enough for lunch.

Again, while it was still boiling I started my sauce. I threw in my tomatoes, a 1/2 cup of spinach, 2 TBsp of EVOO, 1 tsp sea salt, 1/4 tsp red wine vinegar, 1 tsp black pepper, and then pureed it for about 1 minute. I did pulse it in 10 second increments.

After my pasta was done and ready, I added one more thing to my sauce. Shrimp sauce. We had an extra container and it just sounded good to me, but if you want this dish to be all veggie it was still good. I just needed some else.

There you have it. Its a serving and a half of vegetables for the day! Its delicious and healthy, I highly recommend my throw together dinner.

Leave a Reply

