The One Year Bible Plan

One of my New Years resolutions is to become closer in my relationship with the Lord. It is something I personally feel needs to happen in my life, and I see a great time to do it now. Why? At 23 I feel most comfortable about where I am in my life. I’m happily married, have a great job and career, my family joys grows stronger everyday and things are just going in the right direction. For me to get closer to the One Most High is to read His word daily, do my devotionals, and pray. Thank goodness for a great Bible reading plan.

With the help of YouVersion I can successfully read the entire Bible in one year. Thats less than 15 minutes a day! They offer tons of reading plans that can best be suited to an individual and since I was extremely eager to start, I went with the most popular which reads to me as a high success rate.

So far I’ve completed 7 days, and I’m currently reading Genesis, Matthew, Psalm, and Proverbs. Whats great is the plan includes both Old and New Testament. My most favorite verse that has truly resonated with me is Psalm  4:1, “Answer me when I call to you, O God who declares me innocent. Free me from my troubles. Have mercy on me and hear my prayer.” It just gives me the good kind of chills and I can pray to this verse and instantly feel a wave of relief.

I also love my Get Up With God app that has my daily devotionals right at my fingertips in the morning. Whats cool is right now they are doing a 2012 Spiritual Workout  and its pretty amazing to get fit in the spirit for the Lord.

  • FILL UP (your heart): with the Spirit
  • PRAY: continually
  • READ: the Bible
  • LOVE: God + others
  • FAST: from dumb stuff
  • HANG: with other believers
  • TELL: everyone the good news
  • REST: with Jesus

Also, I’m writing down my favorite verses to come back to when I feel I need them most.

Have you read the entire Bible before?

Are you doing a Bible reading plan this year too?

What are your favorite verses?

*As a side note, please pray for Collins Dixon. He is a courageous young man battling brain cancer. Our families have known each other for numerous years through our church. PLEASE PRAY for Collins! Miracles do occur and this family needs a HUGE miracle so again, pray and bend your knees for Collins!

2 thoughts on “The One Year Bible Plan

  1. amandasvids says:

    Lifting up prayers for Collins. I have seen God do many great things and I know that he can heal and bless this young man.
    My favorite verse has to be Proverbs 3:5-6
    “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”

    I have yet to read thru the Bible in it’s entirety, but I do love the YouVesrion app and have used it for devotionals.

    • Brooke says:

      Thank you! Collins needs as many prayers he can get! That Proverbs verse is also one of my favorites! Yeah I love any app for the iPhone that can help with the Bible or devotionals. It just makes it that much easier and it actually makes you read them!

Leave a Reply

