I Married a Secret Chef

Who knew?! Last night Zach cooked the mahi mahi with this recipe he was dying to try. I for the first time, didn’t hover and watch him. I left him alone in the kitchen! GASP. He did the peeling, chopping, grating, marinating, and cooking. I was impressed. He didn’t even ask me once where stuff was! Sadly I forgot to get pictures of him doing his magical work. I was busy doing my addition for dinner. One of my favorite things is roasted vegetables.

I used brussel sprouts (my new favorite, will explain in a minute), carrots, a sweet onion, and potatoes. Ok so I’ve never had brussel sprouts. I was super tempted to try them when I saw the bundle at Fresh Market. Zach likes them, so why not go for it. Holy moly I love them! Here is how I roast vegetables..

I used: 3 carrots, half of a sweet onion, 3 small red potatoes, and a pound of brussel sprouts.

  • Preheat oven to 400°
  • Chop them up, it takes like 10 minutes
  • Use 2 TBsp of olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Mix up with hands, why waste a spoon?
  • Sprinkle them on a baking sheet with tinfoil or in a casserole dish with some olive oil…lightly douse with balsamic vinegar

Pop in the oven until tender, it took ours about an hour! Halfway through, stir them around. Once they are done, sprinkle some Parmesan cheese on them! Thats my secret! It makes the vegetables amazing!

The mahi mahi dinner was fantastic. I was so impressed with Zach and his chef skills. Look at that fish, it was amazing. I dug into mine without thinking of taking a picture. Forgive me. So there are two chefs in this house and it makes me happy. This means he can do more dinners! Oh and he did the dishes while the fish was marinating?! I am one lucky lady!

What did you have for dinner?

Does your husband/boyfriend/fiance/partner ever cook you dinner and you’re blown away by their skills?

 

4 thoughts on “I Married a Secret Chef

  1. IamSimplyTia says:

    This dish is very inviting. Yum. Yum. Yum.

    I had pork tenderloin with sweet potato casserole and collard greens. And my husband doesn’t even know what the word kitchen means. He just likes to eat, not cook. so you’re a very lucky lady!

  2. Brooke says:

    That sounds delicious! I’m a Southern gal so I love sweet potato anything and collard greens are one of my favorite things ever. Zach didn’t understand kitchen either until I forced him to learn, but I do feel lucky. I was just impressed he did it without me badgering him! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

