Ten Years Ago Today

“Depart from evil, and do good; seek peace, and pursue it.” Psalm 34:14

Ten years ago today I was a gawky 12-year-old in the 7th grade. It was a month and 3 days before I turned 13. At the start of the school day I was in first period in Mr. Corbin’s class which was geography. We were just starting class and somehow there was a silent announcement among the teachers. The small details are so vague there might of been an announcement all over the school, I just can’t remember. Moments later the small tv in the corner was on and it was hard to grasp what we little innocent 7th graders were watching. Commotion was everywhere. Mr. Corbin immediately told us to hush and we just sat there, our eyes glued to the tv. The whole class period was spent watching a building smoke and then a second plane came into the tv screen and hit the second tower. It was so raw and intense. All of this was happening live and it clearly came across that no one knew a second plane was planning on hitting the second tower. My eyes immediately shut.  I didn’t want to see something so grim. Mouths dropped, gasps were heard throughout the whole school. The bell for second period rang and no one moved. We were all in the classes we first saw this happen. When the towers started to crumble, it looked like a movie set. Something that was unreal and couldn’t happen. I prayed that my family would be safe and no one would come to our small town in Georgia. News came in later that the Pentagon was hit and another plane crashed in Pennsylvania. Who was doing this? Why did they want to hurt us? Questions I clearly couldn’t answer myself. The rest of the day is a blur. I can’t even remember if we were sent home early. I remember my mom being mom before I was. She was on the phone with her boss, the people she managed, and others who constantly called the house. She waited until my dad came home to explain what had happened.

That 12-year-old girl is now a 22-year-old who still cries when she sees the coverage on tv. Now that I’m old enough to understand what happened it feels new. New in a way I didn’t grasp when I was 12. My heart breaks for those who lost loved ones. The transformation from then to now is tremendous. In some ways its a curse, we are in fear when we go to the airport and the security we have now is getting to the point of invading personal space. The blessings are everyone is equal. Everyone can grieve in the same way, understand the emotional toll it has plagued our country with. God is watching over us, keeping us in the peaceful state we are all in now.

Tell me your story. Where were you ten years ago?

Leave a Reply

