First Real “High-Mileage” Marathon Training Week

And here comes the beginning of my weekly recaps. I wanted to bring this back once I got into bigger numbers and not do what I did in the training for my first half marathon where I ran only 2-3 miles 3X a week.  You live and you learn.

July was a hard month for me. Emotionally I was spent. Physically I was exhausted. So with my first month of 100 miles I was so excited. But my body was not letting me have it. I ended up taking 2 weeks off from running to just rest. And boy did I need it! I came back feeling awesome. I knew I needed a break when I couldn’t get past 2 miles. I would be huffing and puffing, nearly blowing my house down because I just couldn’t run. So that 2 weeks off was needed.

Thankfully last week I came back with a 4 mile run on my favorite trail and ran WITHOUT MY GARMIN. It was the most effortless and blissful run I’ve ever had. My mind was free, I wasn’t feeling the pressure of a pace, and I could actually just enjoy running. The next day I set out for a another run. Same deal, no Garmin and just hounding in on how I felt. I wanted to run 5-6 miles. Well that didn’t happen. Instead I hit this number:

photo 2

I thought my previous day’s 4 miles felt amazing, oh no this run was the best. I literally cried afterwards because I could not believe how amazing it all was. This run reminded me why I love running. It was a very euphoric moment. I definitely got that runner’s high that you try to achieve after every run, but this was just too perfect. It almost made me want to toss my Garmin in the trash and never run with one again and only follow  my trail marker signs, but alas I eventually got my head out of runner cloud 9 and knew that would be awful.

Last Friday I had speed work. I knew that run had to 100% effort and I was honestly not looking forward to it. Only because I didn’t want that much pressure on myself. It never fails, I can run some killer miles and then bam! here comes speed work and I crumble. This time I did not! I overcame my negativity and literally killed my run. I was over my tempo pace, which is awesome, and I had fun. It  hurt just a little, but if it doesn’t challenge you, it won’t change you.

photo 3

photo 4

.75 mile w/u, then 5 sets of 5 minutes at tempo pace, then 3 minutes recovery of walk/or jog, and then cool down of 1.10 miles

I needed to hit either at 10:19″ tempo pace or below, and boy did I hit below. I am still proud of that run.  I started at 9:49 and finished at 9:11 pace.

This week was full of miles. My favorite kind of week! Sunday I had to work, so I ran my 6 miles on Tuesday.

photo 5

I’m going to be honest here. I mean, I should be. It is my blog. The idea of running slower was really hard for me at first. I honestly couldn’t figure out why I had to. Until my run coach further explained to me why I needed to… not had to. A training run is supposed to be a slower pace. That I knew, but certainly almost 1:30-2 minutes slower had to be wrong. Nope. Training for a marathon requires a lot of hours on your feet. And if you want to run by a certain time, you need to have a sturdy foundation of time on your feet to run quicker. It all finally clicked. Which must be why I was having such a great time running for the past 2 weeks. I ran slower, I went off on my breathing and effort. IT ALL MADE SENSE.

Wednesday I ran 8 miles. I definitely felt pain, but the good kind. The kind where you know you just put it all in and the outcome is proof of your hard work. I still finished strong, I wasn’t overly tired. I am shocked at how much easier it is with a better mindset on how my training works.

photo 3

photo 2

I’m not sure how I feel about this style of selfie. Car window makes you look a tad weird. But a thumbs up for a fantastic 8 miles!

And some other odd news, I posted a photo of my large breakfast before each long run. Does anyone else drink a liter of water before a long run? And how many calories do you eat before any run? Mine tallied up to be 750 calories.

photo 1

But I figured that is ok since I’d be burning all of that off. Well, it works for me. That is a glass of iced coffee, a ready pack of waffles, and a liter of water flavored with black cherry limeade.

Oh and one last thing.

IT IS HAPPENING.

photo 1

I AM REGISTERED FOR MY FIRST MARATHON. I finally decided that this is achievable. It is within my grasp and I can do it. I wanted to see how my body could handle training, and it is ok. So I am running in the Rock ‘n’ Roll Savannah Marathon in November. Woohoo!

6848AAAFA113CD2784D905A45AC3381D

One thought on “First Real “High-Mileage” Marathon Training Week

Leave a Reply

